Psychology of Satmar Denial About Weberman’s Crimes is Eloquently and Painfully Explained by Judy Brown

The psychology of Satmar denial about Nechemya Weberman’s sex abuse conviction is eloquently explained by Judy Brown in an article in the Forward. Brown published a fictionalized memoir about an abused childhood  friend in her hasidic community. That book, Hush, was issued under the pseudonym, Eishes Chayil.

I will not try and describe her new article because I cannot do justice to its eloquence, insight, compassion and moral passion. If you only have the time to read one article about the Weberman case, make it this one.

3 thoughts on “Psychology of Satmar Denial About Weberman’s Crimes is Eloquently and Painfully Explained by Judy Brown

  1. WOW! WOW! WOW! What a heartfelt and beautifully written essay. Judy you speak for all of us – victims, survivors, advocates and most of all for the families of victims. Our suffering is never acknowledged, never addressed by our communities. On the contrary, since the Weberman conviction I myself have become the target of so much hatred, ugly barbs, not to speak of loshon hora!

    My friends tell me people ask them “so now your friend Pearl Engelman is happy that Nechemya Weberman is going to jail?” How does one explain to a willfully ignorant community – How can I be happy that a father of 10 children will be incarcerated? It is unbearably sad to think of a once Ehrliche Yid sinking to such low levels. It is even more unbearably sad to think that we, yes we as a community, by never facing up to the fact that we cover up for and protect molesters and pedophiles, have allowed, nay encouraged our heimishe predators to flourish in our Moisdes and families. Witness the 4 plus years since my son Joel revealed to the community the name of the man who molested him, Avrum Reichman – to whose class Williamsburg parents were still sending their young sons. What does this say about us??? (There are currently reports circulating that another parent threatened the school to expose Reichman again. They were paid $50,000 hush money together with a promise to let him go as of last month).

    If only our unwise, irrational, foolish community would understand the enormity of the favor done for us by Weberman’s conviction – how many other young girls were saved from his clutches. And there are so many other victims – terrorized into silence by our community’s reaction to one courageous young woman’s willingness to become the KORBEN for all of them!

    • Pearl, I can only say that one should be spared the pain of a mother being unable to protect her child! My heart goes out to you, the victims and all of our precious children. I just finished watching the Youtube video of your son, Joel, where he sadly relates his story. You have done a fine job raising him, Pearl! I have no words to describe how pained I am! I cannot bear to think that we are depriving our children from the most basic primal instinct, which is to protect our young! I cannot sleep at night, thinking about my children, “Will thay be safe?” “Whom can I trust?” “Will they come forward, in the event it does occur?”

      My friends, the tides are turning, the cover up is no more! The shame is too great and sadly so are the KORBONOS! It is my heartfelt tefillah that we should be spared the pain and help rid the dangers from our society. Let us come clean and hand over the abusers, so that we no longer have to live in fear and shame! The stigma is so great!

      Judy, ever since your book, “Hush”, you started the ball rolling! There are many who read your book in shock and disbelief, but I know that story! I know that story, for it is so close to me! I too, can relate unfortunately too well! Thanks!

      Pearl, I have tremendous respect for you! Your outspokenness, your courage and willingness to advocate are impressive! Since watching your son, all myths of the abused are dispelled! What a fine young man! What a pity! I hope our community will wake up- before it’s too late to change!

      • Thank you ‘anonymous’ for your beautiful words of chizik! I constantly tell everyone to watch ‘Joel Engelman’ on YouTube – the truth and heartbreak of his words can dispel all doubts about his story – cast upon him by those who so wish to discredit him.

See Commenting policy ( http://wp.me/pFbfD-Kk )

