Rabbi Mendel Shafran’s Position on Turning Over Molesters to the Police

A Hasid shared the following exchange with me.

I asked Rabbi Mendel Shafran in Bnei Brak (Rabbi Shafran is a Hasidic Rabbi who went to Hasidic Satmar schools in the US):

I know that you wrote a halachic ruling that one is allowed to turn over a molester to the police. But I want to hear that from your mouth.

Rabbi Shafran answered: “I never said that you are allowed to go (אז מען מעג גיין) to the police. I said that there is an halachic obligation (עס איז א חיוב) to go to the police!

Full original Yiddish below

איך האב געפרעגט הרב מענדל שאפראן פון בני ברק:

שאלה: איך ווייס אז איר האט געשריבן א תשובה אז מען מעג איבערגעבן א מאלעסטער צו די פאליציי. איך וואלט עס געוואלט הערן פון אייער מויל.

תשובה: איך האב קיינמאל נישט געזאגט אז מען מעג גיין צו די פאליציי, איך האב געזאגט אז עס איז א חיוב צו גיין צו די פאליציי!

 Streimel Tip: DM

See Commenting policy ( http://wp.me/pFbfD-Kk )

