QOTD Avi Shafran, Agudah PR Flack, Justifies Blogging (When He Does It)

“As to how my website comports with the Agudath Israel’s policy of not maintaining a website of its own, I want to state clearly that my site is, as its name conveys, an entirely personal venture. The Gedolim to which the Agudah looks for guidance have expressed their feeling that an Agudah website might be seen as a “hechsher” of the Internet, and thus would be irresponsible. I still serve as the Agudah’s director of public affairs but I also write and comment as an individual; and the site reflects that latter fact alone.” (Cross-Currents)

To me this seems like a fancy way of saying Agudah has to officially oppose the internet, and ban outlets like VIN who cover things like sex abuse, but still wants to use the internet for propaganda purposes. So, Rabbi Avi Shafran is the Internet Goy. Basically this is the Agudah version of asymetric warfare; we don’t allow our people to read opposing views but it is OK to use the Internet to spread our propaganda.

7 thoughts on “QOTD Avi Shafran, Agudah PR Flack, Justifies Blogging (When He Does It)

  1. “As to how my using prostitutes comports with the Torah’s policy of not using prostitutes, I want to state clearly that my personal behaviour is, as its name conveys, an entirely personal venture. The Gedolim have expressed their feeling that their using prostitutes might be seen as a “hechsher” of prostitutes, and thus would be irresponsible. I still serve as their director of public affairs but I am also an individual; and my using prostitutes reflects that latter fact alone.”

  2. I think the Agudah rabbis only forbids the Agudah from having an official webpage. Any employee of the place can have one for his personal purposes.

    And from what I read on Shafran’s site he doesn’t do any Agudah propagandizing, just his usual articles about different stuff

    • This is the first line of the Wikipedia entry on Avi Shafran: “Abraham (Avi) Shafran is a Haredi rabbi who serves as the Director of Public Affairs for Agudath Israel of America.”

See Commenting policy ( http://wp.me/pFbfD-Kk )

