Breaking!! Moshe Menachem Taubenfeld Arrested in Rockland for Alleged Sexual Abuse

Moshe Menachem Taubenfeld

Moshe Menachem Taubenfeld

Rockland County, NY authorities arrested Moshe Menachem Taubenfeld on charges of allegedly sexually abusing a boy. The arrest happened this morning. Moshe Menachem is the brother of Herschel Taubenfeld a resident in New Square (Skver), NY who pled guilty to child sexual abuse but got off with no jail time and was retained as a teacher of children in New Square.

I will post further developments as I learn about them.

Update: Full Text of Police Press Release:

The Ramapo Detective Bureau began an investigation in the summer of 2013 of the sexual abuse of a child over a period of time. The incidents occurred in the Village of New Square. The investigation culminated today with the arrest of Moshe Menacham Taubenfeld, also known as Mendel Zarkowsky. Taubenfeld (Zarkowsky) was charged with the class D felony of Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the 2nd degree.

The crime occurred during the years 2001 through 2006. The male victim is not related to Taubenfeld (Zarkowsky).

The victim was under the age of 11 years old when the crime began.

Taubenfeld (Zarkowsky) was arraigned by Hon. Justice R. Schoenberger in the Town of Ramapo Court.

His bail was set at $25,000.00 cash. Taubenfeld (Zarkowsky) was released on the $25,000.00 bail with a future return date to New Square Village Court.

NYS Penal Law § 130.80 Course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree. 1. A person is guilty of course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree when, over a period of time not less than three months in duration: (a) he or she engages in two or more acts of sexual conduct with a child less than eleven years old; or (b) he or she, being eighteen years old or more, engages in two or more acts of sexual conduct with a child less than thirteen years old. 2. A person may not be subsequently prosecuted for any other sexual offense involving the same victim unless the other charged offense occurred outside the time period charged under this section. Course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree is a class D felony.

20 thoughts on “Breaking!! Moshe Menachem Taubenfeld Arrested in Rockland for Alleged Sexual Abuse

  1. A Mechaya!!. Such good news right before Shabbos! Is this Chazer going to get off also? Am I correct geographically that New SKVER is also located in Rockland county? Oh where oh where will they find enough prison cells, if they really make a serious go for it? How many Taubenfelds in the phone book up in Rockland?

  2. Yes New Square is in Rockland County just a few miles from Monsey. Too soon to tell how it will be handled. The fact that it is a felony means it does not got to New Square Court but to Rockland Court and I think the Prosecutor and Judge know that activists will be keeping an eye on them this time.

    • Ya think that Monsey, Skver, Kiryas Joel, have the highest percentage of sexual deviants per square foot of any other area upstate?. Just kidding, meant in all of NYS. If some unforeseen medical events due to old age were to occur to Twersky and to the Aharonite. would the flocks adopt new fuhrers? or would they relocate, thereby also cleansing the area?

    • There was an eggregious failure of justice when his brother was allowed to plead guilty and not serve any jail time for sexually abusing a boy. The injustice was compounded by a failure to protect children when his brother was kept on as a school teacher in Skver in spite of a child molesting conviction. I fear the same may happen again and feel a need to highlight these failures to protect children in New Square.

    • RationalFaith, please correct me if I err, but, one step further, logic tells me that all Charedi boys become sinners the moment that they start having wet dreams. (even if they go with their father to the Mikveh in the morning). If such is the case, they are doomed from puberty, already sinning with that pure body that Hashem gave them, and at such a young age,, and from there, having been convinced that they are sinners,, the rest is just icing on the cake (please excuse any unintended allusions).
      This is all stam hypothetical, since I was never a Charedi boy nor have I ever been a parent to one. However, if I were, I sure as heck would do everything in my power to keep him a few hundred yards away from any Mikveh. Particularly if it’s in Rockland, Lakewood, or near the infamous Shabbos Shul that is so beloved to B. Lebovits. (ya know the Shul for Scoundrels). Down the block from the Satmar den of iniquity..

      • I always wondered what the thrill is that non-chareidi have of exposing a chareidi sinner, but now you’ve explained it. The thrill is that now it’s okay for you to masturbate.

        Well let me tell you, it’s not okay. It’s forbidden.

        And to further dispel your thrill, I hate to break it to you, but as a general rule Chareidi Jews are good people and good Jews. But you probably know this or else you wouldn’t be so excited every time you uncover a ‘FIND’.

        • Hate to break it to you but I am as charaidi as you.

          Chassidus in general has an unhealthy habit of treating masturbation/hotzas zerah levatolah as the worst avairah possible to the point of being worse that nonconsensual homosexual activity with a child, provided said activity does not result in a seminal emission.

          Little boys are abused for keeping their hands in their pockets because it is believed this will lead to masturbation but chedder rabbeim fondling little boys is tolerated so long as the rebbe doesn’t experience any discharge.

          Sick stuff.

    • Rational Faith
      You’re not as Charedi as I, because I support Charedi Shita and you scorn it. If you are Charedi, you are self hating – the way you speak of charedim. You’re probably an ex-charedi.

      The treating of masturbating as the worst Avaira far precedes Chassidus. Look in Raishis Chochmah where it is compared to Avodah Zara and Shfichas Damim and that there is nothing that is Metameh the person more and there is no bigger transgression before hashem than this. Better yet look in the Gemara Nida 13a compares it to causing the Mabul. The Torah by Air and Onan calles a person who does this ‘Ra’. And Chassidim, of course take the Torah with all of these sources seriously. Do you not?

      And what you say about a Cheder Rebbe fondling little boys is simple wicked demagoguery. You know well that the Charedim are very distraught and broken when such an incident occurs, but have a hard time finding the good way to deal with it. I grant you that they are gravely mistaken in their approach, but that does not equal tolerance. An Ehrlicher Chassidishe person looks at masturbation as the worst sin, and at this fondling as yet worse.

      The fact that they don’t deal with this correctly does not undo everything else that they do which is correct Al Pi Torah. This is simple and obvious that the logic of connecting these two in order to scorn the taking seriously of the Avaira of masturbating is ridiculous and Letzanus to make light of a serious Avaira.

      So if you pretend not to understand the Shita, listen very carefully:

      Hotzas Zerah Levatolah is the worst Avairah possible.
      Non consensual (or consensual) homosexual activity with a child (or an adult) is yet a million times worse.

      • So. is that it? A daily ritual, albeit presumed normal????
        BTW, just as a curiousity. charedim (or whatever nomenclature one wishes) who were abused years ago, most likely pre-pubescent, lets guess 11-15, lo chashuv), today reading current stories, reading Camp Dora Golding’s story, are there not many. many who are triggered. From their own experiences. heck, this did not start yesterday..obviously.
        It is a cultural phenomenon heck even the “notables” see wiki 770 eastern pkwy, even amongst the notables, surely, there was abuse.

        so what the f is the ortho community doing about this? today? for the moment let us even forget the abuses at YU.

  3. Sorry, there is no makor in gemara that HZ”L is the worst possible avairah.

    And please don’t make me laugh so hard. Charaidim are pained by the molestation of little children. Most of us turn away and say ‘the gedolim are taking care of it’ while our ‘gedolim’ deny it ever happens (except by the MO, there we all know it happens, just not by REAL frum people).

    You apparently use the term Charaidi as a political affiliation. I consider charaidi to be an adjective. So in the sense of politics, I suppose I am not Charaidi. (Truthfully, I’ve never been good at standing straight and saluting while singing ‘daas torah uber alis’ at every mention of a kol koreh signed by third tier rebbes and roshai yeshiva, no matter how impressive their DNA.

    • I already gave you a Mekor from the Gemara – not for Hotzos Zera, but for merely doing something that could potentially lead to it. כל האוחז באמה ומשתין כאילו מביא מבול לעולם and this is Paskened in Shulchan Aruch, and see Nida 13, lots of terrible things about someone who merely touches there – his hand should be severed etc. So when you say “There is no Mekor in the Gemara”, you truly speak like a Boki B’shas but you accidentally missed these Gemaras.

      Also, please don’t laugh too hard. I am Chareidi, and I am TREMENDOUSLY pained by such stories, and I have warned all of my children to be aware or certain activities by any staff in yeshiva and notify me immediately. If Chas Vesholom such a thing would happen, I would become a tremendous Kanai about it. But B”H, so far, although my children attend various yeshivas and have cumulatively had many teachers and Rebbees, there was never yet such a report, because as I said Most are Ehrlich, but unfortunately, and in this case, tragically, there are bad apples in every group.

      • I guess you are having a problem with reading comprehension.

        I wrote that there is no makor in gemara to say that HZL is THE WORST SIN.

        My original point was that we treat HZL as the most important avairah to avoid while we ignore CSA. You can claim you are pained by it all you want but that won’t change reality.

        Our leadership at best ignores the problem but in many cases have solved the problem by punishing the victim.

        Time to start teaching that people who have desires for children or teens should keep a bar of soap or a jar of Vaseline handy and to use it whenever they feel the urge to murder a child’s neshama.

        A pedophile is a rotzaiach. One who kills a pedophile chasing a child is matzil a nephesh. One who kills the most prolific motzi zerah levatalah is a rotzaiach.

        Why are we more concerned with preventing boys from violating a ‘regular’ lav than with preventing the destruction of children’s neshamos?

        • We don’t have a disagreement about the severity of this type of child abuse. We do have a disagreement about the severity of HZL. But our biggest difference is that you see charedim in the worst light and jump to false conclusion about them and automatically assume the worst about them.. Even of people whom you don’t know, like myself, you make condemning judgments. The exact opposite of being Dan Lekaf Zechus.

          You ask “Why are we more concerned with preventing boys from violating a ‘regular’ lav than with preventing the destruction of children’s neshamos?” You have created a false ‘given’, and then contest it. There is no such Shita, as I already explained. Your calling a pedophile a rotzaiach is agreed 100%. And by the way, I take issue with your using the term ordinary lav. What is an ordinary lav?! A lav is a tragedy – every lav, with no exception. And HZL is spoken of with especially extreme severity. I don’t think your rebuttal of the semantic Worst Sin, is very clever, and actually I had a feeling that you might use that type of argument and I was curious to see if you would.

          You accuse me of only caring about my own child. Where did you get that idea from. I din’t say that or imply it. You were Dan Lekaf Chova with no basis whatsoever. I would most certainly become a Kanai just the same if someone else’s child would report as well, or if my child would report about an incident that happened with another child. Is you accusation based on the fact that I spoke about this to MY children rather than to other children. That’s absurd.

          Your need to vilify me and charedim in general, makes it almost seem that you enjoy when this happens because it gives you a chance to say a bad word about the charedim. Look at the first comment on this post, from CHASHDAN. He begins “A !Mechaya!!. Such good news right before Shabbos!” I know he will answer that he is rejoicing that the person was arrested. But at the same time he heard about a terrible crime that was committed against a Jewish child. Where is the pain?! My first reaction was not to rejoice. I was overcome with pain and sorrow that this happened. Oy Oy Vay, What a tragedy! Do you folks totally not care, except to make the point of how bad we are?!

          To this comment of yours: “By the way, Mr. I’m Charadi but You Are Not – What are you doing on the internet?”

          I find it strange the same activity disqualifies me from Charedihood but not you.

          For what it’s worth I’ll tell you that I have an extremely strict filter called Meshimer. With that I allow myself to still consider myself Charedi. If you disagree, then that is yet another point of disagreement between us.

        • “We don’t have a disagreement about the severity of this type of child abuse. We do have a disagreement about the severity of HZL.”

          RF: Strange. I don’t remember writing any opinion of the severity of HZL other than the fact that it is not the worst sin, a fact you yourself recognize below.

          “But our biggest difference is that you see charedim in the worst light and jump to false conclusion about them and automatically assume the worst about them.. Even of people whom you don’t know, like myself, you make condemning judgments. The exact opposite of being Dan Lekaf Zechus.”

          RF: Strange how much you think you know about me. Stranger yet is your complaint about me making condemning judgments, as the following was your first reaction to my comment: “I always wondered what the thrill is that non-chareidi have of exposing a chareidi sinner, but now you’ve explained it. The thrill is that now it’s okay for you to masturbate.”

          “You ask “Why are we more concerned with preventing boys from violating a ‘regular’ lav than with preventing the destruction of children’s neshamos?” You have created a false ‘given’, and then contest it. There is no such Shita, as I already explained.”

          RF: I never claimed there is such a shita. I simply pointed out the reality. the reality.

          “Your calling a pedophile a rotzaiach is agreed 100%. And by the way, I take issue with your using the term ordinary lav. What is an ordinary lav?! A lav is a tragedy – every lav, with no exception. And HZL is spoken of with especially extreme severity. I don’t think your rebuttal of the semantic Worst Sin, is very clever, and actually I had a feeling that you might use that type of argument and I was curious to see if you would.”

          RF: It is certainly not a matter of semantics. You claimed it is the worst sin and I disputed that.

          RF: (In a previous post you wrote “Hotzas Zerah Levatolah is the worst Avairah possible. Non consensual (or consensual) homosexual activity with a child (or an adult) is yet a million times worse. Perhaps you can explain how anything is a million times worse than the sin that by your own words is the worst.)

          “You accuse me of only caring about my own child. Where did you get that idea from. I din’t say that or imply it.”

          RF: You wrote that if one of your own children were molested you become a kanoi, meaning you are not now one, despite the fact that other children have been victimized.

          “You were Dan Lekaf Chova with no basis whatsoever. I would most certainly become a Kanai just the same if someone else’s child would report as well, or if my child would report about an incident that happened with another child.”

          RF: Then why HAVEN’T you become a kanoi on this issue??? Maasechah sosrim es devorechah.

          “Is you accusation based on the fact that I spoke about this to MY children rather than to other children. That’s absurd. ”

          RF: Again, you words, not mine. What is absurd is the poor job you are doing of back pedalling.

          “Your need to vilify me and charedim in general, makes it almost seem that you enjoy when this happens because it gives you a chance to say a bad word about the charedim. Look at the first comment on this post, from CHASHDAN. He begins “A !Mechaya!!. Such good news right before Shabbos!” I know he will answer that he is rejoicing that the person was arrested. But at the same time he heard about a terrible crime that was committed against a Jewish child. Where is the pain?! My first reaction was not to rejoice. I was overcome with pain and sorrow that this happened. Oy Oy Vay, What a tragedy! Do you folks totally not care, except to make the point of how bad we are?!”

          RF: Strangest yet. You have made wild assumptions about me based on someone else’s words. (Not that I believe his expression of joy at the arrest of a child molestor is any proof positive of his attitude towards chareidim.)

          “To this comment of yours: “By the way, Mr. I’m Charadi but You Are Not – What are you doing on the internet?”

          I find it strange the same activity disqualifies me from Charedihood but not you.”

          RF: I don’t engage in the odd habit of deciding who is and who is not chareidi or anything else. Labels mean nothing out of context. One man’s chreidi is another man’s kanoi and another man’s moderate.

          RF: You on the other hand jumped right into discussing who is and who is not chareidi. In so doing, you invited comment and criticism regarding your own rating on the old chareidimeter.

          “For what it’s worth I’ll tell you that I have an extremely strict filter called Meshimer. With that I allow myself to still consider myself Charedi. If you disagree, then that is yet another point of disagreement between us.”

          RF: Your choice of filtering software, admirable though it might be, is of little interest to me. I do not identify myself as Chareidi as you obviously do. (As I wrote in an earlier post, my ‘chareidiness’ is with a lowercase ‘c’, not an uppercase ‘C’.) The Chareidi leaders have all spoken out against using the internet except for parnassah. I doubt you make much of a living writing comments on blogs.

          RF: Do you really believe that you can toss accusations of non-compliance with Chareidi doctrine without opening your own coompliance with it to commnet and criticism???

          RF: I began working with OTD kids before someone labeled them. I am close with a few of them for many years. The overwhelming majority of them revolted against Yiddishkeit because of the revolting things that were done to them by people claiming to be Chareidi, usually in positions of authority in frum mosdos.

          RF: I helped bury one of those kids he committed suicide (as an adult) from the pain and revulsion he felt twenty years after his abuse started and I have watched another one of them commit suicide little by little for the last 25+ years. (Others have gone on to lead outwardly normal lives.) Both were abused by men with long beards and long coats who still walk around with their heads high, making ‘good’ shidduchim and former and current members of the moetzes were warned about both of them but did nothing to stop them.

          RF: you seem to need in a black and white, easily labeled world. It doesn’t exist. Criticizing the way our leadership has bungled and botched and usually just ignored CSA in our midst does not make one a shaigitz. It just means one’s eyes are open and one’s head is not in the sand. (Which is a good thing, as having one’s eyes open while one’s head is in the ground can get a little uncomfortable.)

      • One more point: You write that you would be a kanoi if c”v one of yours was adused. In other words, CSA does not bother you, CSA of YOUR child bothers you, so if all of yours get in and out of their yeshiva years unharmed, who cares what happens to anyone else’s child.

        News flash here for you Einstein: You are supposed to care about every child, not just your own (only the ones who promise to join the Charaidi club when they grow up of course. The ones that might end up OTD can be molested until they kill themselves. The Torah wouldn’t want to disrupt your self righteous little existance by asking you to lift a finger or open your mouth to save someone else’s child).

        By the way, Mr. I’m Charadi but You Are Not – What are you doing on the internet?

        • I’m not answering point by point, simply because it’s a waste of…..

          Let’s cut to the chase, and do away with all of the silly arguing. I do feel that there is a point of disagreement, (beside the silly arguing). This is the reasin I commented to begin with, that is because I feel that a particular attitude needs correcting, or at least addressing.

          You tell of your work with OTD children. I have respect for you that you work with and give chizuk to such brokenhearted neshomos. I know a number of people who do this type of work and I respect them for it. Now imagine if someone would speak to you in condemnation of such such a child, saying that the child is non observant and therefore bad. You would take tremendous issue with this, and rightfully so. This child has been directly destroyed by the worst offense being enacted against him. He is a Nebach by all definitions and needs only chizuk and not criticism. I am a not right that you would feel this way?

          Now let me tell you about my work. I work with a different type of Tzebrochener neshomos. They are not officially OTD, but they are off the derech of their real humanity and Yiddishkeit, even though outwardly they can act mainstream functional. They are a product of a society which has all of the flaws that our society has. Their parents, or by now grandparents, have been destroyed by the Nazis and the rebuilding was never complete. I see their mistakes in judgement and behavior. I try to give chizuk and also sometimes some guidance, after lots and lots of chizuk to the point where they can accept a drop of guidance. If someone condemns them, I take issue, as do you with your students, if I may so refer to them, out of lack of a better term.

          There is no doubt that these people need a lot of correcting, as do the Nebach straying OTD children. But what they need first and underlying and as a prerequisite, is love and understanding and respect, that is, basic human respect, and to be given the feeling that I/we believe in them, in their basic goodness and well meaningness. If this is not a prerequisite, then it will simply appear as though you have an agenda. It might sometimes appear as a dispute between MO and Chareidi. I’m calling for some mutual respect and understanding. It will (also) be far more productive.

See Commenting policy ( http://wp.me/pFbfD-Kk )

